The Giant Wound on my Head

August 12, 2008

So we have this kitten.

She’s adorable, but naughty as heck.  Matt doesn’t believe me, cause when he’s around she’s all purrs and rainbows.  But she’s recently learned that she has very sharp teeth, and will bite me constantly.  She bites if petting her; she bites if I’m not.  She bites if I’ve just walked out of the bedroom and hadn’t invited her in.  She bites when I feed her.  She bites when I’m minding my own business, knitting.

I’m talking break-the-skin-bleeding-mess bites.

So when Matt’s SIL suggested isolating her when she does something she’s not supposed to (since we determined that squirting her with a spray bottle does nothing to deter her), I’ve taken to putting her in her kennel with a firm “NO” when she bites me.

Until today, when I leaned over to put her inside, I smacked my head on the top of the kennel.  How did this happen?  I am not usually so uncoordinated.

So here is my gash:

You can barely see it, can you!  Let me tell you, it feels like a giant gash.

Anyway, here is what I’ve been working on:

My Laminaria, which I screwed up somehow and totally frogged,

My first Boyfriend Sock, which are actually for me, and unfortunately I do not have any pictures yet.  But Sock #1 is about 4 rows away from being finished

But mostly I have been working on my first ever quilt for my niece Sophie, who turned 1 this week:

This thing has taken forever!  I started it months before the wedding, and kind of had to push it aside until recently.  The whole thing was exhilarating, however, and I am going to make many more I’m sure.  My other niece Miriam has her first birthday in October, so I will definitely have another one ready by then.  I also need to make a duvet for our nice new down comforter.

Isn’t it funny that as crafters (or maybe its just me) we automatically think of making one before buying it?  I wouldn’t dream of buying a duvet when I can sew.  More often than not, though, I have these lofty ambitions
of making rather than buying- and I end up getting frustrated/busy/tired/lazy/broke and I end up buying the stupid thing anyway.  Oh well, its the thought that counts, right?
I haven’t been doing much knitting cause I have, like, a hundred thousand projects that I picked up after the wedding (I hadn’t been knitting in so long!  I was deprived!!), and honestly that’s a good way to get nothing done.

I’m going to try to do more, though.  I need to get my stupid craft room organized.

Leave a Reply

