Its finally here-

March 2, 2008

 
Presenting:  the bane of my existence for the past year.  The thorn in my side.  The gigantic wool monster.  The largest thing I’ve ever knit:  
Lady Eleanor
Size: An astounding six feet in length; about 1.5 feet wide.
Yarn: Six skeins of Cascade 220, bought at the Black Purl in Wausau. 
Needles:  US Size 10 1/2
Mods:  I’m pretty sure I did more “tiers” than the pattern called for in order to make the colors work.
The picture above is only half- the teal color on top is actually the middle. 
I’m not really a huge fan of the giant color discrepancy  between the greyish/greenish color (second from the bottom).    I had bought these colors + white, originally, but decided against the white and returned to the store to purchase more in the same dye lots.  I didn’t know that there can be a difference in dye lots, so on the other side of the shawl, there is one section of the greyish/greenish yarn that is actually greyish/tealish (my original preference).  Sigh.   
If anyone ever mentions it to me, I swear to God that I will smack them down. 
I haven’t blocked it yet; the thought of dragging this huge wet mess out of the tub and finding a place to dry it (it is actually approximately the size of my living room) makes me want to vomit.  What do you think?  Do you think I should block it anyway?  I think its pretty the way it is.  Plus, it would probably be huge-er.
So far I love wearing it.  Its much like a giant blanket that no one thinks twice about you carrying around.  
I haven’t gotten many comments about being “old” yet, though I’m sure they will come (see, some people think its strange and “old” that I knit, and even more strange and “old” that I would actually wear some of these things.  How can I be fashionable/popular if I’m always busy knitting?  Oh, I pretty much gave up being fashionable and popular when I got glasses).
 
Its so pretty hanging in my closet, that I might just forego decorating and leave it there forever. 
 
This is me trying to be kickin’ in my coat with my sweet scarf/shawl/schawrfl. 

Leave a Reply

