WOW I’m still lazy.

December 13, 2007

I’m still lazy because I have hardly done any knitting lately.  I have many projects that I said I’d have done before Christmas, and I hardly ever take pictures and post on the blog.

However, I blame some of this on the fact that my poor poor iBook is dead, and I’m using Puffin’s old iMac, which is pretty slow.  (In case you were wondering, Puffin is actually my new nickname for Matt.  I wanted a neat nickname for him, cause it seems everyone in blogland is doing it.  For instance, my friend Heather calls her boyfriend Charlie.  His real name is Alex.  Sometimes, I get her boyfriend confused with my bird who is also named Charlie.  And then sometimes I get her boyfriend confused with my brother, also named Alex.  However, I’ve never confused my bird Michael Scott with anyone.  Except for Steve Carell’s character on The Office.  I might end up changing Michael Scott’s name to Steve, because Matt-I-mean Puffin keeps trying to teach him how to say “That’s what she said”.  Real mature.)

What did I say I’d finish before Christmas?
1.  Lady Elenore
2.  Leann’s Scarf
3.  Jill’s Hat*
4.  Socks
*Remember, again, that time that I said I wouldn’t knit by request from others EVER AGAIN?  It was shortly after I started Leann’s scarf.  Wellllllllllllllllllllll Jill talked me into knitting a hat.

Plus there’s the ever-growing list of projects that I want to (nay, need to) finish sometime in my life.  Some knitters have a SABLE (stash acquisition beyond life expectancy).  I have a WIPBLE (works in progress beyond life expectancy.  Somebody quote me, quick!  I also have an unusual love for parentheses.
I promise I will archive all my WIPs soon.

You see, the funny thing is that if you saw all my WIPs, you would know that I am a very avid knitter.  You would know that I am skilled and quick, and that I like detailed, complex patterns.  However, if you saw my FOs, you would probably just assume that I’m lazy.  In all honesty, its just that I have the attention span of a six-year-old with a bladder problem when it comes to projects.  If you could only ever know how many projects I’ve nearly completed, only to rip them out because I was sure that I’d discovered a much more interesting project.

Anyway, being the poor college-age person that I am, I’ve procrastinated my Christmas shopping.  Unfortunately- I have wayyy more people on my List than ever before (I mean, I guess this is good cause it means I have more friends, right?), and I’m also way broke-er than ever before.  I attribute this to that whole cost-of-living thing.  Poor me.
So now we have less than two weeks til Christmas, and I don’t have ONE SINGLE GIFT.  That’s a lie.  I have Puffin’s parents’ gift.  That’s it.
So what am I going to do?

Knit.

Knit like its the only thing I know.  In times of extreme stress, when I know in my head that there is no possible way that I’ll be able to knit something for everyone on my list in less than two weeks, my subconscious has somehow contacted my fingers and told them that it is indeed possible.  Maybe if I call in sick to work, maybe if I skip all my church obligations this weekend, maybe if I cut off contact with everyone (ironically, everyone who I would be knitting for), I can get this done.  Maybe.

One Response to “WOW I’m still lazy.”

  1. momma Says:

    Sooooo, What are you knitting for me? Hmmmm?

    Love, momma


Leave a Reply

