Dear knitting diary…

October 13, 2007

My mom and two of my sisters came to visit me last night. My mom brought a “learn to knit” kit and I taught her what I knew.

My poor mother was so tense, trying to get it to work, that whenever someone would say something to her she would shout “DON’T TALK TO ME I’M KNITTING!”.

LOL.

I understand her frustration.

Ah, those were the days. I taught myself to knit using the internet and Stitch N’ Bitch Nation because honest-to-God I thought I could just learn and then knit beautiful sweaters. I also thought that I could knit beautiful sweaters in a few days. Or maybe one day, or a few hours if I really applied myself.

I still think that way in the back of my mind a little bit. I love instant gratification. Its only when I go into a project without a predetermined timeline that I can finish it.

I guess if I had to say that I had a knitting “strength” it is that I have extremely high confidence in myself and my abilities. “Fearlessness”? Is that a word?

However, I have a weakness that is equally as strong- and that is a total lack of commitment. Although, maybe to counteract that, I can start buying expensive yarn- thus forcing me to complete a project I spent so much of my paycheck on. (I’m sure the ladies at the Yellow Dog will appreciate that?)

Moving on.

I discovered RSS. It has completely changed my blogging experience. How exciting! Now all my knitting blogs are right at my fingertips- I don’t even have to go to the websites to see if there are any new posts. I love technology!

Well, I can’t think of anything else to talk about. Have a good weekend!

One Response to “Dear knitting diary…”

  1. myhobbyisyarn Says:

    Lol! My mom did the same thing when she re-learned to knit–socks on size 0 doing magic loop. I took her to Yellow Dog and Cindi caught her every time my mom tried to cheat. I can’t figure out rss, but I think I need to. I’ve been reading blogs off of my ravelry friends list, but not all of my daily blogs are on there.


Leave a Reply

