It only cost me $1.50

July 26, 2007

I think, after two years of dedicating my life to yarn, that I can finally declare my street-cred in the knitting community.

It was a long journey,
but…
I have finished a sweater.

Please please do not confuse this with working on sweaters. I have started many, many large knitting projects only to rip them out in the neverending quest for a pattern I felt was worth my time. It wasn’t until now that I had the persistence to finish an actual, honest-to-goodness wearable item of clothing.
The fruits of my labor:

–Dollar and a half Cardigan from the spring issue of Interweave Knits–

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Specs:
6 Skeins of Paton’s Classic Merino Wool Yarn in Dark Grey Mix
US size 8 needles (I have a tight gauge; the pattern called for size 5)
Modifications:
I made the sleeves extra long (I like it in the winter) but I’m kind of regretting it now.. we’ll see how I feel when it gets colder.
I think I want to make i-cord loops for the toggles instead of using the button holes. I don’t like how it gaps when you button it (honestly, who writes that into a pattern?).

Next order of business.
Not as impressive, but I thought it was lovely.

-Luxe Neckwarmer from Knit 2 Together


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Specs:
1 ball Noro Kureyon in colorway 180
US size 10.5 needles
Mods:
Only the obvious– it called for some kind of cashmere but I used itchy noro. Its okay, it was for my mom and she doesn’t mind being itchy.
Just kidding, it was a lot softer after blocking.

I’ve had all sorts of projects going lately, but I’m majorly working on possibly my favorite project ever. I can show you a tiny bit, but because its highly sensitive material (read: a christmas present), I’m not going to show you the whole thing. Yet.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Oh yes. You should be excited.
I can tell you that its made out of Elsebeth Lavold’s Silky Wool. Annnnnnnd its amazing.

I think I’ve listed enough projects for one post. Maybe I’ll have the Lady Elenore done soon so I can show you that? Its hard to work on a large, wooly project when its 90 degrees out, though. It might be awhile.

2 Responses to “It only cost me $1.50”

  1. apryl Says:

    oh, natalie. I love all of your knitted goods. I envy you so.

  2. myhobbyisyarn Says:

    Your sweater turned out great. I have yet to finish an adult sized sweater. Did you finish Lady Elenore?


Leave a Reply

